top of page

Classes Of Tea

First, it is helpful to know that all "true teas" come from the same "tea plant" species, Camellia sinensis. Tisanes aka “herbal teas” such as Chamomile, are not considered true teas as they are produced from other herbs and not Camellia sinensis.


Now that you know that, there are five major “classes” or types of tea:


  • White

  • Green

  • Oolong 

  • Black

  • Pu-erh

Within each class there are many varieties! What differentiates each class of tea is how the tea is cultivated and processed, including if and to what degree the tea was oxidized  (i.e. when the enzymes in the leaf interact with oxygen).

Below, we have outlined a few characteristics of each type of tea to help you better understand what you are drinking! For the sake of keeping it short and sweet, we have listed a few general qualities associated with each class, but characteristics may vary with each specific tea. There are always exceptions to the rule!

Please also note that the caffeine levels in each tea may vary and are impacted by the temperature of the water used and for how long the tea leaves are steeped. Follow the instructions on your KeWi Teas™ package to properly steep each tea!

Pu-erh  Tea


  • Fermented

  • Dark color liquor (*liquor refers to the liquid that is produced when you steep the dry tea leaves in hot water)

  • Rich, earthy  aromas  &  flavors  with less astringency

  • Caffeine levels vary

Black Tea

  • Fully oxidized

  • Dark color liquor ranging from deep amber to dark brown

  • More robust aromas & flavors

  • Higher caffeine level


Oolong Tea​

  • Semi-oxidized

  • Shares characteristics of Black and Green teas

  • Liquor produced may range in color

  • Unique, complex flavor profile, sharing notes of black and green teas. Tends to be smoother with less astringency.

  • Moderate to Higher caffeine levels

Green Tea​

  • Unoxidized

  • Produces a lighter color liquor ranging from yellowish to greenish

  • More subtle aromas & flavors (e.g. grassy, vegetal)

  • Minimal to Moderate caffeine levels

White Tea

  • Very minimally oxidized, Least processed of all teas

  • Produces a paler (e.g. yellowish) color liquor

  • Delicate aromas & flavors

  • Minimal caffeine level


Herbal Tea​ aka "Tisane"

  • Infusions of different herbs that create a tea-like liquor

  • Popular herbal teas include Chamomile, Hibiscus & Rooibos

  • Vary in color, aroma and flavor

  • Generally naturally non-caffeinated, although there are exceptions, such as Yerba Mate which is highly caffeinated

bottom of page