top of page

The 5 Major Types of Tea

Updated: Oct 31, 2020

Did you know that there is literally thousands of varieties of tea?

Yep, that's right! You can never grow tired of tea, because there's guaranteed to be many types of tea that you've never tried. 

Despite the thousands of different variations, there are five major classes or "types" of tea:

  • White

  • Green

  • Oolong

  • Black

  • Pu-erh

In fact- all "true teas" come from the same "tea plant" species, Camellia sinensis (an evergreen shrub indigenous to both China and India).

So, what's the difference between these types of tea?

What differentiates these classes of tea is how they are processed, including if, and to what degree the tea was oxidized (when the enzymes in the leaf interact with oxygen).

So, if you enjoy a strong, full bodied cup of tea you're probably a "black tea" drinker (which is fully oxidized), whereas if you prefer something lighter with more subtle flavors, an unoxidized or minimally oxidized white or green tea may be your go to! 

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page